top of page
  • Fanchon Dehillotte

UNRAVELLING SD

Updated: Oct 24, 2021

SONG DIARY#2: Unravelling


My fingers manically typed the Unravelling lyrics on a phone keyboard as I sat in the backseat of my parents' road conversation. Their discussion hummed in my background; whom is leaving whom and how surprising is it that you could spend 25 years married to someone before realising they are a terrible person ? Comment peut on se tromper autant ? How could you get someone so wrong ?


I had watched Woody Allen's 'Wonder Wheel' a few nights earlier; a haunting sepia-toned art film about melancholia, working life and adultery with rosey hues of unreciprocated romantic fantasy.

I don't think I made any edits to what I wrote in those first minutes, the words felt like they had interwoven by themselves and I didn't want to taint that sense of catharsis.

It might've been raining in the car or I might've written the original guitar line during a thunderstorm, either way I felt the song inseparable from that scape.

Just like any collection of words that seems to pour out independently, what the song meant to me personally wasn't inherently apparent. All that my 18 year old self clung onto was: If I spend so much time in my head, if I am such an over thinker, then how could I not think myself out of this ? (whatever 'this' meant and means)


My only regret is leaving in a grammatical mistake (can instead of could in the chorus), I thought I was being intentional but now it just makes me feel unenglish x)




inspirations: Wonder Wheel by Woody Allen, eavesdropping

themes: overthinking ruins you both in present and hindsight !!



bottom of page