top of page
  • Fanchon Dehillotte

Honey, We ran out of sweetness

Updated: Sep 16, 2021

*Song Diary* 1 - Honey, We Ran Out of Sweetness



This was my first time ever being recorded in a studio and I was terrified, accentuated by the fact that it was one of the first times I ever played an original song in front of another human.


I was sat down cross legged, trying to make myself as tiny as possible in a tiny vocal booth with the mic slanted all the way down to reach both my fragile voice and guitar. I guess I was mimicking a safe and introverted recording-myself-on-my-bed posture; not the best set up for playing or for singing or for recording or for mixing.

I didn't even warm up my voice or do enough takes to get one without mistakes, I ached for the experience to be over just as much as I felt invigorated to finally be doing this.

A friend played around with the mix through an old school analog desk, which I proceeded to smudge anyway by drag and dropping an ambient fireplace free library sound. I tend not to edit first draft lyrics too much but this song being one of my firsts, I've had the time to clarify what I was really wanting to say. It's not quite what I recorded here. Regardless, I appreciate this version as a witness to that hesitant little girl who sang without knowing why but felt her heart explode every time. I really don't recognise her anymore, thank fuck.


inspirations: 'The Power of Now' by Eckhart Tolle

themes: watching someone fall out of love with you




bottom of page